Bill McMurray Claims St. Joseph Mayor Seat

McMurray defeated his opponent Beau Walker 52 percent to 48 percent.

Posted: Apr 3, 2018 9:24 PM
Updated: Apr 3, 2018 9:41 PM

(ST. JOSEPH, Mo.) Bill McMurray has been chosen as the next mayor of St. Joseph by a narrow margin 52 percent to 48 percent. 

After a slow start to the election day, Buchanan County brought in 24.81 percent of voters, still shy of the expected 30 percent. 

The unofficial results of the April 3 election show that McMurray gained 5,520 votes (51.60%) to Beau Walker's 5,149 votes (48.13%.)

St. Joseph voters also decided to strike down the primary seat belt question with an overwhelming 61 percent voting No.

For the St. Joseph City Council At-Large race, Brenda Blessing was the top vote getter (30.99%) with incumbent Kent "Spanky" O'Dell (23.45%) claiming the second seat.

In District 2, incumbent Joyce Starr (46.99%) was defeated by newcomer Marty Novak (52.69%).

PJ Kovac will maintain his seat in District 3 after getting 51 percent of the vote over Jason Eslinger.

For District 4 Gary Roach reclaimed his seat over Virginia Weigum.

Russell Moore (55.72%) was able to defeat the District 5 incumbent Barbara LaBass (44%).

For a complete list of the unofficial results from the April 3 General Municipal election, click here.

Saint Joseph
75° wxIcon
Hi: 93° Lo: 72°
Feels Like: 75°
Broken Clouds
73° wxIcon
Hi: 90° Lo: 72°
Feels Like: 73°
75° wxIcon
Hi: 91° Lo: 71°
Feels Like: 75°
71° wxIcon
Hi: 91° Lo: 70°
Feels Like: 71°
73° wxIcon
Hi: 92° Lo: 73°
Feels Like: 73°
A very weak cold front has moved through Thursday night and gave us some early showers and thunderstorms. Temperatures over the weekend will remain in the low 90s through Sunday.
KQTV Radar
KQTV Temperatures
KQTV Alerts

Community Events